Look at the stars, look how they shine for you!

The main point of my blog – or maybe just the initial goal- was for me to communicate and exchange on the year of vegetarianism that I have started. I am very grateful for the interest and support shown so far and I must say it is MUCH easier than I would have thought. It’s been almost a month now and I have never failed, let alone struggled at maintaining my meat-free commitment. I’ve survived the epic profusion of food that are so typical of Christmas and New Year’s times as easily as a kid would walk away from brussels sprouts. The only difficult moments I have endured were not the result of weaknesses of my will but rather of the poor range of vegetarian options in mainstream fast food shops and groceries.

Ironically I remember the time when I was not vegetarian and I would raise my eyebrows and look away from the (*) marking vegetarian dishes. Those (*) seemed to be everywhere and now that I desperately scan menus and labels in my favourite shops … they’ve all disappeared!

Right now for instance I am sitting in a Prêt à Manger in Holborn -London,  and if I turn around and look at their shelves I can only but deplore that there are just 2 or 3 vegetarian meal options on display. Most sandwiches and even SALADS contain meat.

I can only now understand how much of a challenge vegetarianism is in our society. I absolutely agree that being vegetarian is a personal choice however it seems that all mainstream food retailers take for granted that nobody is ! Although we should not define ourselves according to what we eat and what be buy just imagine how difficult it is to be free of choosing for yourself when choices are made for you? In fact it seems that vegetarianism is only partially accepted since only part of everyday’s commodities are accessible for non meat-eaters.

I am not an old-school fully devoted vegetarian and in fact I believe in a more respectful and responsible omnivore diet but the more I dive into the fantastic adventure that is vegetarianism, the more I respect those who have always been and will always be. Their reasoning and lifestyle are noble and humanistic. For that we should be more grateful.

Where have all the stars gone?

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Lifestyle, Rambling. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Look at the stars, look how they shine for you!

  1. Alison says:

    We’ll see what you’ll eat at our Chinese new year dinner! 😉

    Le Pain Quotidien has lots of vegetarian food. And Whole Foods. BEST store EVER (même moi j’achète des fruits là-bas).

  2. Clara says:

    I used to like brussels sprouts when I was a kid !

  3. Ale says:

    actually, as a non vegetarian i think that the selection of veggies in supermarkets and recipes on cooking programmes on tv is rather limited.. I could use some creative tips from gordon ramsey and more seasonal and local veggies in my local sainsbury…

Leave a Reply

