Eating Animals

I have created a new category in this blog’s sidebar : Eating Animals.

This is but the first of a series of posts, it is not going to be investigation blogging but rather some snapshots of the book I am currently reading. So it’s going to be inspirational blogging 🙂

You see, I have started reading Jonathan Safran Foer’s best seller Eating Animals and I find it so inspiring that I would like to share some bits of it with you. I don’t expect everyone to read it, nor feel inspired by what I will highlight but I’ll quote the most meaningful parts and I am sure you will understand better how I see things.

First and foremost, on the author – Jonathan Safran Foer, New York, known for Everything is illuminated and on Eating Animals based on excerpts of the book…

When I was nine, I had a babysitter who didn’t want to hurt anything. She put it just like that when I asked her why she wasn’t having chicken with my brother and me: “I don’t want to hurt anything (…) You know that chicken is chicken right?”. (…) Without drama or rhetoric, she shared what she knew. My brother and I looked at each other, our mouths full of hurt chickens, and had simultaneaous how-in-the-world-could-I-have-never-thought-of-that-before-and-why-on-earth-didn’t-someone-tell-me? moments.

My vegetarianism, so bombastic and unyielding in the beginning, lasted a few years, sputtered, and quietly died. (…) Generally speaking my conscience was clear enough. Pass the chicken, I am starving.

In the same week, we became engaged and vegetarian. (…) We were honest people who occasionally told lies, careful friends who sometimes acted clumsy. We were vegetarians who from time to time ate meat.

99% of all animals eaten in this country come from “factory farms”.

I wanted to know as concretely as possible. Where does it come from? How is it produced? How are animals treated and to what extent does it matter?

to be continued …

ps: because I like pictures but nothing really suits such posts, I’ll add random pictures from Daily Squee. And to start off, this Baby Deer. I believe nothing in the world makes me feel better than this picture does.

This entry was posted in Eating Animals and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

